RECOGNITION

WHEREAS, people of many ethnic and cultural heritages live in King County, sharing their traditions, histories, and cultures with the residents of our county; and

WHEREAS, King County recognizes the great cultural contributions made by many generations and individuals of Nordic descent residing in our county, particularly in Seattle's Ballard neighborhood; and

WHEREAS, one in eight residents in Washington claim Nordic heritage, and there are more individuals of Norwegian descent living in the United States than in Norway itself; and

WHEREAS, the National Nordic Museum, the Karmoy Club, the Leif Erikson and the Sons of Norway lodges, the Norwegian Ladies Chorus, and the Seattle-Bergen Sister City Association, among others throughout King County, preserve and celebrate Norwegian culture and heritage, adding to the rich fabric of our community; and

WHEREAS, the National Nordic Museum here in King County is now the national focal point for Nordic culture, designated as the United States' official museum for Nordic heritage, in recognition of its unique work to educate and preserve the history, culture, and art of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden; and

WHEREAS, since 1889, the greater Seattle area and beyond has joined in celebrating Norway's Constitution Day on the 17th of May by hosting a "Syttende Mai" or 17th of May festival and parade in Ballard, to honor the day in 1814 when Norway declared its independence by signing its constitution at Eidsvoll; and

WHEREAS, the 17th of May parade in Ballard is the largest Syttende Mai parade outside of Oslo and Bergen, Norway, and on this day, the Ballard community and beyond will join together to participate in a wide range of cultural festivities and events; and

WHEREAS, this year the parade and festivities will be live and in person for the first time since 2019, and Anniken R. Krutnes, Norway's Ambassador to the United States, will serve as the parade's Grand Marshal;

NOW, THEREFORE, we, the Metropolitan King County Council, recognize and honor

SYTTENDE MAI

known also as Norwegian Constitution Day, and encourage all county residents to join in this celebration of culture and heritage.

DATED this seventeenth day of May, 2022.

Claudia Balducci, District Six, Council Chair

Rod Dembowski, District One

Sarah Perry, District Three

Dave Upthegrove, District Five, Council Vice Chair

Joe McDermott, District Eight

Girmay Zahilay, District Two, Council Vice Chair

Jeanne Kohl-Welles, District Four

Pete von Reichbauer, District Seven

Reagan Dunn, District Nine